in THINK | 23 Feb 2017

The rainbow within.. Colour energy & the seven chakras

The chakras derive from Hinduism and Buddhism philosophy. They are seven central energy points throughout the body, that link to different organs and glands. Energy flows through them all to evenly distribute chi or praana (life energy) throughout the body.

When one chakra is blocked it can manifest itself in different ways in our lives, from illness to emotional problems. Colour therapy can help release these blockages.



Colour is all around us. Scientifically, it's waves of light travelling through space. Our eyes register different wavelengths as different colours. Each chakra has a different vibration, that matches it to the vibration of a certain colour.

If you meditate and focus on the chakra's colour, it can release the blockage occurring within that chakra.

Crown Chakra - VIOLET

Areas: Central nervous system, the brain, the pituitary gland, the cerebral cortex

Influence: Information, knowledge & peace with your world

Blockage: Migraines, anxiety, forgetfulness 

Colour visualisation: Deciseness, trust, structure

Brow Chakra - INDIGO

Areas: Eyes, head, pituitary gland

Influence: Perception, wisdom, intuition & spiritual awareness

Blockage: Lack of foresight, memory loss and depression. 

Colour visualisation: Courage, clarity, awe

Throat Chakra - BLUE

Areas:  Neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid & parathyroid glands

Influence: Self-expression, honesty, creativity & communication

Blockage: Lack of communication, dishonesty, creative blocks

Colour visualisation: Decisiveness, clarity, freedom

Heart Chakra - GREEN

Areas: Heart and central organs

Influence: Relationships, love, compassion

Blockage: Lung and heart problems, poor immunity, lack of compassion

Colour visualisation: Balance, love, trust

Solar Plexus Chakra - YELLOW

Areas: Digestive system, muscles, pancreas & adrenals

Influence: Willpower, feelings, ambitions & achievements

Blockage: Lack of direction, anger, inability to express oneself

Colour visualisation: Self-control, vision, trust

Sacral Chakra - ORANGE

Areas: Lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder & your reproductive organs

Influence: Sexuality, desire, pleasure & creativity

Blockage: Sexual guilt, obsessive behaviour, emotional issues

Colour visualisation: Gratitude, self-love, independence

Base Chakra - RED

Areas: Legs, feet, bones, large intestine & adrenal glands

Influence: Groundness, relationship to earth, safety

Blockage: Inflammation of the body, fear, defensiveness, procrastination 

Colour visualisation: Security, courage, confidence

Yoga, meditation and colour therapy all help get your chakras back in balance.

Try a colour therapy visualisation exercise to balance your chakras. After reading above, identify which chakras may feel out of balance. Place something of the corresponding colour on the associate energy point. Visualise the colour being absorbed into that area, and the feelings associated with that colour.

Yoga and meditation also help get your chakras back in balance. Make time for yoga and mediation weekly, sign up for a five week course with Delight Yoga starting the 1st of March. Or do a one off Art of Meditation course at Delight on the 12th of March,  it's only €25 and could be just what you need.